WEBS Whirlwind

(I really want to be better about turning the computer *off* on the weekends and devote that time to family and knitting (there’s a lot to do) so this post is going to be quick and dirty!)

A few weeks back, a fellow ravelry, Rchrispy earburned me that she would be out on the East Coast and was planning a trip to Webs!. I haven’t been to Webs since May, 2007 – I was due for a return trip. Peacefulknitter was also ready for a road trip to Webs, so off we went!

I tried to be very project specific – I needed buttons for a baby sweater (since the last ones I bought have disappeared! grrr), yarn for a Christmas present, and I really wanted to see the Spud & Chloe yarns in person. I did pretty well in sticking to my list (buttons check! Spud & Chloe yarn check! Christmas present yarn, no go they didn’t carry it)… and then of course I added to it.
IMG_8490
Made in Brooklyn pattern booklet, a Spud & Chloe pattern, Natural Knits for Babies and Toddlers, and 101 Stitches to Knit box of pattern cards.

IMG_8491 IMG_8495 IMG_8496
Bulky yarn… I felt like I have queued a bunch of patterns that needed solid colored bulky yarn – so this should help for a while to make a hat for lorelai (or a head band / ear warmer for me), the Spud & Chloe pattern, and then something else.

I also picked up some Berroco Peruvia as I’ve had really good luck with that for felting projects. It’s a great shade of green that didn’t photograph too well.

Mal-Gal MeetUp!
Here we all are – Malabrigo Junkies unite! I was quite impressed by the knowledge these ladies have – they were talking plies and weights and subtle shades of colors and to say they know the colors of malabrigo is an understatement. I think I’m a freshman in malabrigo junkie world – I do love it, so that’s a start! 🙂

And there was a random meeting, not entirely surprising at a huge knitting shop in New England. We were waiting to check out and talked with a guy knitting this really neat hat – after talking to him for a minute or so, it turns out that the guy was Guido of It’s a Purl, Man podcast!

Of course, now I just want to start up umpteen new projects. Instead I’m going to try and exhibit *some* self control and work on a few projects today that should result in finished objects, always a good thing!

2 thoughts on “WEBS Whirlwind

Leave a Reply

