Tiny Stitches

This week I picked up Stitches, by Anne Lamott. I was first introduced to her writing freshman year of college with Bird by Bird, a book that I think of often and really should reread. (I think it was a social justice class. I also read Amazing Grace in that class which was phenomenal.) I can’t quite put my finger on why I like her style, but I do. Have you read her work? This book takes a look at how we deal when life gets all out of whack – the big awful events, the daily frustrations, and everything inbetween. It’s not light, with references to things like Sandy Hook and sick children, but I’m able to enjoy a few words here and there.

(thank you pinterest, for allowing me another method in which to catch all the quotes that catch me!)

I’ve been knitting on my March socks, and though they may be plain vanilla socks, they are a merino-cashmere-nylon blend and stripey and it’s nice to be in a world where such a wonderful thing also exists! I’m on to the stockinette section of my sockhead hat. No modifications, I’m knitting to the pattern, so I’ve still got quite a ways to go on that. It is soothing and I love love love this speckling in the yarn – the pops of magenta here and navy there make me take notice of the beauty of the stitches again and again. Also, this yarn would be so awesome as a HeartCat I think!

12 thoughts on “Tiny Stitches

  1. I do love anne lamott and have read most of her books, but not that one, I have it though on my to read pile, I think I need to get reading! Lovely socks 🙂

  2. I had an English teacher in high school who was obsessed with “Bird by Bird” (I can still hear her shrieking that at us 20 times a day!)…and I tell myself that all the time!

  3. Pingback: Link Love for Best Crochet Patterns, Ideas and News — Crochet Concupiscence

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along: April 9, 2014 | Wife, "Mom", Knitter

  5. Pingback: Yarn Along: April 30, 2014 | Wife, "Mom", Knitter

  6. Pingback: Yarn Along: May 7, 2014 | Wife, "Mom", Knitter

Leave a comment