Relief

First, thank you for putting good thoughts / prayers / vibes out into the universe for my niece this week.  Her surgery went well and so far, recovery is looking good.  I’m going to share the Heartcat I made one more time, because I am so super proud of it and I got possibly the best feedback on it ever – my SIL said she held on to Heartcat during Vi’s surgery, it was a comfort to her as well.  That is a powerful handmade project right there.  The pattern was great, and the crochet stitches were not any more complicated that simple increases / decreases.  I will make this again.

picture006My second project this week is my Windschief hat! Knit in a game of yarn chicken, I did not have enough of my Malabrigo Rios to finish this hat until a knitter friend very kindly shared with me. Her skein of yarn was much more green than my skein, but it all works out just fine, and even if I could tell the difference, it’s on the top of my head. I have been wearing it a lot since I finished it last night – I put it on right away, then today it’s chilly in my house, so it’s on again. My husband took it and wore it this morning while getting breakfast ready – he was surprised that you could wear a hand knit hat in the house and not overheat.  I would make this pattern again. My only hold up is I feel like because the twisted rib section pulls the fabric a bit, I can’t quite figure out where on my head to place that rib section – it’s like the hat doesn’t sit evenly on my head. I’m probably overthinking this. I made the large size, it nice fits my head and hair and covers my ears, it also fits my husband’s head!

Here’s to a restful weekend with lots of restorative crafting!

b74a7-fofriday

4 thoughts on “Relief

  1. I’m so glad your niece is doing well. Her Heartcat is adorable. I’m sure she’ll cherish it always.
    Your hat is so cute! It’s so nice to be rescued by a fellow knitter:)

  2. I’m happy to hear that Your niece is recovering. I have been looking at that cat for a while and I love it. Yours is very nice ! Your hat yarn is so pretty that it doesn’t matter if the top is mostly green. It only adds character. Have a great weekend.

Leave a comment